Maurice Parker White – December 19, 1941 – February 4, 2016

Reese and Al

These two incredibly gifted musicians and men are the reasons I ever achieved anything in the music industry.

I met Al McKay (on the right) in 1980 and he is my “musical godfather” as he brought me into the EWF circle. Because of him, a few years later in 1987, the man on the left, Maurice White, brought me back into the circle when the band reformed for the “Touch The World” album and subsequent tour.

Reese left us on Wednesday and while his physical presence is no longer here, the genius of his music and the incredible legacy of Earth, Wind & Fire will be with us always and forever.

To his brothers and sisters, sons, family – God bless and keep you in his amazing grace and love. To the extended Earth, Wind & Fire family wherever we may be, let us rejoice in what Reese brought to and means to us. I use the many lessons he taught me as I go through my daily life, both personal and professional as I know you do as well.

Keep Your Head To The Sky.

8 Responses to “Maurice Parker White – December 19, 1941 – February 4, 2016”

  1. Steven ivory Says:

    Beautiful, sir.

  2. forrestwalker Says:

    Charles, sorry to hear about the world’s loss.

  3. Adrianne Says:

    Mr Freeman,

    It has been a very long time since we have talked not even sure if you remember me. When I heard the news I thought of you. I know Maurice and EWF are a very special part of your life. Thank you for sharing. Adrianne P.

  4. Reggie Young Says:

    Hey Charles, that was spot on my friend. Reese, left such an indelible footprint in our lives from the very first time you meet him. You just had a since that their was something uniquely special about him. I know I certainly will never forget the first time we met. I was 14 years old nor will I ever forget the words he said to me in that first meeting. He was truly a remarkable man. He was already missed nightly onstage, but at least we have the opportunity to try and carry on his legacy to make him proud.
    R.I.P Maurice..

Leave a Reply

