New Year’s Eve 2012

CHICAGO SUN-TIMES COVER

The Winner and Still President: Barack Hussein Obama II

When 2012 began, President Obama was at odds with the Tea Party controlled Republican majority in the House, a determined to make him a one-term president Mitch McConnell in the Senate (how’d that turn out for you Turtleman?) and a group of potential campaign opponents best described as Mitch Romney, Jon Huntsman and the looniest bunch of idiots to run for the White House since the invention of brains.

As the year ends, he’s still the president (yeah!) and he’s still battling with the Republican Party, such as it is these days. My hope is that he will stand strong against the forces of evil, both domestic and foreign, that seem aligned against him not only politically, but personally as well.

Ever think you know somebody and then they do or say something that lets you know that you really don’t know them? A buddy of mine got ripped off by a friend earlier this year for a fairly large sum of money and the friend just disappeared. Walked out on his family – wife and three kids – one morning back in March and hasn’t been heard from since. I said all that to say be careful of who you let into your life.

I’m looking at making some big moves both personally and professionally in 2013. First things first; a serious change in my eating habits – cutting wayyyy back on red meat as a starter – and riding my stationary bike EVERY morning and evening. The others include finishing school and writing and self-publishing at least two novels. Look for the first one, The Reunion, to be out sometime in the first quarter of the year. I’ll keep you posted as things progress.

Love is the key to opening the door.

Charles

RANDOM THOUGHTS

“Django Unchained” – Saw it yesterday morning (and afternoon; it’s over 2 & ½ hours). Very well made film from a purely technical standpoint. Some parts were difficult for me to watch because as I get older, the less blood and gore I want to see so there were times when I turned away from the screen. Great writing, acting and directing of a very tough subject. Loved the music as well. Do I think any slave could have talked and acted towards his owner as Stephen did and live; I’m not a historian and anything is possible, but I seriously doubt it. Generally speaking, I go to the movies to be entertained and this film was for the most part entertaining to me. But unlike “The Help”, I didn’t leave the theater with a good taste in my mouth. Last but not least: Was I the only one to detect an incestuous undertone to the interaction between Leonard DiCaprio’s character and his “widowed sister”?

Am I the only one who thinks Katt Williams has developed a death wish? I mean, sooner or later, somebody’s going to bust a cap off in his short ass, right? BTW, did I mention his current “road manager” is Suge Knight? This ends badly people.

Any team that hires Jon Gruden will be regretting it in 2 seasons or less.

Clippers head coach Vinnie Del Negro is a perfect example of why sometimes it’s best to show patience with an employee and let him or her grow into a job/position.

Cowboys Owner Jerry Jones needs to fire Cowboys GM Jerry Jones but his enormous ego won’t let him.

Generally speaking I’m not a vengeful person and far be it from me to wish death upon anyone, but I pray to Almighty God that a plague descend upon the houses of those evil Republicans who in any way, shape or fashion stated or insinuated that Secretary Clinton was “faking” being sick so that she could avoid testifying before Congress on the Benghazi situation. First up: Allen West!

I guess my buddy, voiceover artist extraordinaire and NAACP Image Awards nominee Rodney Saulsberry was correct two years ago when he said, “Tony Romo just can’t win the big games.”

I sure hope Peyton Manning and Adrian Peterson are named “Comeback Player of the Year” as both truly deserve the award.

I want to hear a CD from Philip Bailey covering the Mighty Three – Thom Bell, Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff – songbook in 2013, produced by the one and only David Foster featuring Larry Dunn on keyboards and Al McKay on guitar.

I was at a friend’s house yesterday and she showed me some childhood family photos. There was one of her youngest brother’s crib circa 1965 and I gotta tell you, that thing wouldn’t pass a safety exam today by Ray Charles in his current condition of being dead since June 10, 2004. Talk about a deathtrap!

I watched the Deception pilot on nbc.com over the weekend and baby, Meagan Good and Laz Alonzo might have a HIT on their hands in the New Year!

If Panda Express had a restaurant with a drive-thru in the Crenshaw District, I’d move next door to it. And I’m only half-joking.

If you marry a whore, don’t be surprised when he or she does whorish things. Yes I’m staring at you Kanye and Kim. Mazel Tov!

If you’re even thinking about taking the Nets job as head coach, don’t you sit down with Demoan Williams BEFORE doing so and at least, attempt to find out where his head is?

In my best Sheriff Bart voice: “Where da Mayan women at?”

Is there a sexual undertone to this Kevin Durant TV ad or do I need Jesus a lot more than I think?

John Boehner’s “Plan C” – blame Obama! “Plan D” – blame midgets! “Plan E” – get drunk and claim “It was my evil twin Jim who made the deal!”

Now that Mitch McConnell has failed in his stated desire of making President Obama a “one-term president”, it’s time for the Republican Party in Congress to stop opposing practically everything he proposes and work together with he and their Democratic counterparts to make things better for all Americans. It’s also wayyy past time for John Boehner to be Speaker of the House, not just the Republican part.

Over the last 4 seasons, Andy Reid is 33-31 and has finished last in NFC East last 3. Why would any team be rushing to hire him?

Sad irony is that several NFL coaches are going to be fired on New Year’s Eve. How do you go out and celebrate tonight if you’ve just lost your job?

The only difference between me and Denzel Washington is one year in age. And he’s a movie star with two Oscars. And he lives in a 36,000 square foot house in Beverly Hills. And he’s been married for 30 years. And he’s rich. And millions of women want him. And he has courtside Lakers tickets. Other than that…

I pledge to be in the front row of the Clippers victory parade down Figueroa in June! Shall I save you a spot?

WELCOME TO LOB CITY

We are Clippers nation and our Capitol is Lob City!

FINALLY

r-OBAMA-SECOND-TERM-huge

  “As long as I’m president…and I’m going to be president for the next four years.”

Leave a Reply

