RANDOM THOUGHTS – July 8, 2012

Call me out of touch if you must, but until he announced he’s gay, I’d never heard of R&B singer Frank Ocean and I’ll bet dollars to donuts that you hadn’t either.

Ever wonder if any of those African babies adopted by white stars look around the dinner table and say to themselves, “Who the hell are all these white people?”

Flawed as it may be, I’ll take OBAMACARE over the Republican plan of “Go Away and Die”, any day of the week and twice on Sundays!

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ll take “slow but steady” job GROWTH over job LOSSES any month of the year. I mean, you do realize that in the fall of ’08, we were losing on average, over 500,000 jobs a MONTH, right?

I keep waiting for the Republicans to figure out a way to counter the Stephanie Miller healthcare story, but maybe for once, they’ve decided to act like decent human beings. Nah, that can’t be it.

I may be the only person in LA who doesn’t believe that Steve Nash means the Lakers will be in the NBA Finals next year, but I’m sticking to that position until (and if) proven wrong. Until there’s documented proof of an NBA championship team with a starting backcourt with the average age of 36, I think Laker fans should hold off on making victory parade plans just yet. Call me cynical, but I don’t see how adding a 38 year-old point guard, even if he’s Steve Nash who can’t guard your house, improves the Lakers’ chances of beating the younger, more athletic OKC Thunder with a trip to the Finals under their belt.

I may be wrong, but something tells me that Serena Williams is kind of happy about winning the women’s singles title at Wimbledon.

Sad news for we children of the 1960s; Lt. Quinton McHale aka Ernest Borgnine, has made his final sea run at the age of 95. Borgnine won the 1955 Best Actor Oscar for his portrayal of Marty Piletti, a shy and sensitive butcher, in the film “Marty.”

Sarah Palin has made it virtually impossible for Mitt Romney to choose a woman, known or unknown, as his running mate. In fact, I can’t recall a more lackluster pool of potential VP candidates for a party in the last 40 years. Every possible governor from Chris “Slim” Christie to Bobby Jindal to Nikki Haley is seriously flawed and would make Romney look even worse.

Speaking of the Olympics, now that reigning sprint champion Usain Bolt has been defeated by a fellow Jamaican runner (at both 100 and 200 meters) and USA sprinter Justin Gatlin and Tyson Gay have returned in top form from their drug bans, the men’s 100 and 200 meter races could be the glamour events of track & field.

Ted is the funniest, raunchiest movie I’ve seen in a long, long time.

The Republican National Committee has apparently decided to go with the ”Obama Is Satan” strategy in hopes of scaring many white Americans into voting for Mitt Romney.

Tomorrow is the unofficial worst sports day of the year with nothing major occurring except baseball’s All-Star Home Run Derby and frankly, even for a lifelong baseball fan like me, that’s a stretch calling it a “major” event.

Why do I have the feeling that this will be the Olympics where an all-NBA team loses its first game since the USA started sending pros in 1992?

Leave a Reply

