Saturday, October 15, 2011

The battle for America’s future starts here.

Can Cain handle success? That’s just one of the many pressing questions facing “The Godfather of Soul Pizza” over the next few days.

“Howdy America. I’se be Herman Cain at yo’ service!”

THEY SAID IT

“It’s been a rough month. We have been brutalized and beaten up and chewed up in the press to where I need this today,” she said. “We are being brutalized by our opponents, and our own party. So much of that is, I think they look at him, because of his faith. He is the only true conservative – well, there are some true conservatives. And they’re there for good reasons. And they may feel like God called them too. But I truly feel like we are here for that purpose.” – Anita Perry, wife of presidential candidate Texas governor Rick Perry.

“You heathenistic meanies need to leave my hand-picked by God himself husband alone! So there!”

“… I don’t miss my shots in the fourth quarter.” — President Barack Obama on basketball and 2012.

“I’m not a halfway kind of guy.” — New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie on his decision to endorse Mitt Romney.

“It’s been heaven. My staff can’t find me, nobody can reach me.” — Sen. Patrick Leahy telling the WSJ why he enjoyed the BlackBerry outage.

“They don’t expect to see me at Starbucks or at Chipotle.”— First Lady Michelle Obama discussing her incognito public outings with NBC’s Al Roker.

“I just try to get up every day and do my job, and debates are not my strong suit.” — Rick Perry acknowledging that he’s not the world’s best debater.

“I believe in tables.” — GOP debate moderator Charlie Rose approving of Tuesday’s set-up onstage.

“And when they ask me who is the president of Ubeki-beki-beki-beki-stan-stan I’m going to say you know, I don’t know.” — 2012 hopeful Herman Cain admitting to The Brody File that he doesn’t know everything. “And when they ask me what’s my plan for rebuilding America’s manufacturing base, I’m going to say, ‘I’se do not know’ because I does not know. Hell, I does not know what I had for breakfast this morning.”

“I don’t think he’s [Mitt Romney] a staunch conservative because he’s changed his position on too many things over the years. The other thing is, if you just look at Romneycare in Massachusetts, no matter how much he tries to pretend that it was supposed to be good for Massachusetts, a conservative would never have signed that Romneycare legislation in Massachusetts.” – 2012 hopeful Herman Cain on why he won’t support Romney if he’s the GOP nominee. That loud sound you just heard was Mitt “Suge” Romney taking a huge sigh of relief.

“I think the devil is in the details.” — Rep. Michele Bachmann knocking Cain’s 9-9-9 plan during the presidential debate. When you’re as flat-out bat-s**t crazy as Bachmann, you can find “the devil” anywhere you want.

“If Herman Cain is our nominee against Barack Obama, I think he’ll sweep the South.” – Mississippi governor Haley Barbour on Herman Cain’s chances of winning the presidency. Most Southern GOPers would prefer having Cain actually sweeping the South but I digress.

“We don’t sell black walnut. The sales nationally did not meet our expectations, unfortunately. It did not behoove us to continue with the product.” – Hazel, at the Haagen-Dazs customer service line, explaining why the ice cream flavor Herman Cain has compared himself to no longer exists.

RICK PERRY ON MORNING SHOWS, from Pittsburgh (Friday):

–To Chris Wragge, on CBS’ “The Early Show,” re his drop in polls: “We’ve been in this race for eight weeks. It’s gonna be up, it’s gonna be down. I doubt very seriously if who’s leading in the polls today is going to be our nominee.”

–To Matt Lauer, on “Today,” re Mormon-bashing by a prominent supporter: “If we’re going to spend the time in the campaign defending what someone who has endorsed us has said out there in the public, President Obama’s gonna spent a lot of time talking about defending people who’re saying things about HIM that he probably doesn’t stand by. WTF? So, again, Matt, these are all distractions.”

–To George Stephanopoulos on “Good Morning America,” on how badly he wants to be president: “Listen, I wouldn’ta got in this thing if I didn’t think America was in trouble. And I got a great being the governor of the state of Texas. But I love my country, and there’s a point in time when you have to do your duty. And that’s what I’m all about. I want to get this country back working again. I love America. I wore the uniform of this country as a pilot in the United States Air Force. I understand about service and sacrifice. … I hope there’s somebody watching this program today, who’s sitting there in the living room without a job, looking for that person who’s gonna give them hope that they’re going to have a job in the future. I’m that person.”

RANDOM THOUGHTS

So, which Perry is actually running for president; “Pretty Ricky” or his wife ”Agonizing Anita”?

Herman Cain is rapidly falling into the trap of being the kind of black man that Republicans find “non-threatening” and he’s going to get a very rude awakening down the line. He’s also clueless in dealing with the press as this item from today’s “Afternoon Fix” (Washington Post) clearly shows Cain-says-he-wont-reveal-more-policy-advisers “I’m not going to tell you!” the former Godfather’s Pizza CEO said on a campaign stop in Tennessee. “They’re my advisers, not yours. [Reporters] just want to know who my smart people are so they can attack them.” The presidential candidate won’t reveal his foreign policy advisers either.

Granted, we haven’t heard his side of the story yet, but based on what the prosecution has presented in court so far, it’s safe to say that Conrad Murray’s defense team has their work cut out for them.

Attention Hank Williams, Jr: Maybe you’re as ignorant as you seem or maybe you just missed civics class the day the teacher covered the First Amendment; I’m not sure which it is. Nevertheless, while it guarantees that the government can’t restrict one’s speech, it says nothing about what kind of speech one’s employer or business associate must tolerate. That’s why ESPN cut you loose.

After listening to NBA commissioner David Stern on The Dan Patrick Radio Show on Friday, “It’s Gonna Take A Miracle” isn’t just the name of one of Deniece Williams’ greatest hits, it’s also what has to happen before the players can win against the owners.

NBA Players Association executive director Billy Hunter can rant and rave all he wants about  “player unity”, but the truth of the matter is that while owners can “own” for decades if they choose to – Lakers owner Jerry Buss purchased the team in 1979 – players have a very finite time to earn the kind of money available in the NBA and as history sadly shows us, many of them blow through their fortunes and are broke 3-5 years after their playing career ends.

If there’s no season, here are 20 Things to miss about the NBA.  

PURE CLASS

President and Mrs Obama at the State Dinner for South Korean President Lee Myung-bak on Thursday, October 13, 2011.

COMMENTARY

Go back with me to the spring and summer of 2009. The so-called Tea Party is in full roar, holding rallies where signs with pictures of the president as Hitler, a chimpanzee among other demeaning depictions are being displayed along with epithets and other derogatory statements about him and his family are being made. Now, imagine if you will, Michelle Obama going out and making a statement along the lines of what Anita Perry said earlier this week about the treatment her husband’s been receiving on the campaign trail Anita-perry-says-she-and-rick-have-been-brutalized-by-fellow-republicans. Can you even imagine the uproar in the media, especially from FAUX NOISE and Rush Limbaugh and his ilk?

I don’t know how people like Sarah Palin and Rick Perry become the governor of a state. On the other hand, I live in a state that twice elected Arnold Schwarzenegger as our governor so, it’s not like it’s an isolated occurrence. However, say what you will about the “Governator”, neither he or his soon-to-be ex-wife ever got up in public and “bitched and moaned” about the treatment he received when the going got tough. Unfortunately, this is part of the current political landscape and if you’re not ready to have your policies and proposals attacked by your opponents, even those in your party, then you’re not ready for “prime-time.”

So, my message to “Pretty Ricky” and “Angry Anita” Perry is this: put-up or shut-up. You want to be the GOP’s nominee, then get your s**t together and fight for the nomination like every other candidate (well, except Newt “3 Wives So Far” Gingrich) is doing. If you thought your opponents, especially Mitt “Suge” Romney who’s basically been running for the 2012 nomination since he conceded the ’08 race to John McCain, were just going to roll over and let you “Texas-Two-Step” to running against President Obama next year, you were very sadly mistaken.

FINALLY

The Flyer offers its prayers for the victims of the senseless shootings in Seal Beach, CA this week. There are no words to express our outrage and sadness at the horrific actions of a deranged man.

Leave a Reply

