Sunday, July 31, 2011

Some of you have asked why I haven’t posted much in the past few days and I feel that I owe you an explanation. I’m taking an English class this summer that compresses 16 weeks of study and writing into 6 and I’ve been churning out assignments like a crazy man.

But, that’s not the real or main reason.

July is traditionally a tough month for me because it’s the birth month of two of my favorite people in the whole wide world – my mother Nancy Jane Cunningham Freeman (10th) and my baby sister Carolyn Elaine Freeman (18th) – who both left us far too soon. It will be 29 years in November and 13 in September respectively and I miss them more than words can express. Losing a parent at any time is tough; losing one many years before you expect to is even tougher. And, in no way do I want anyone to think that I miss one more than the other, but losing my baby sister at the age of 32 created a hole in my heart that simply can’t be filled.

Tomorrow starts a new month, one that I’m sure will be filled with new challenges and hopes. I promise to do and be better.

Leave a Reply

