Random Thoughts, Sunday, June 5, 2011

Not only do I think it’s a great idea that Jon Huntsman won’t try to compete in Iowa, I’d love to see him take it one step further and not compete in New Hampshire too. Why? Well, I’ll tell you why. For the life of me, I’ve never understood why we allow two of the nation’s least populated and culturally diverse states have so much power in selecting presidential nominees. Neither one is indicative of what the majority of present-day America looks and sounds like and shouldn’t have an oversized role in picking a presidential candidate of either party.

Speaking of Huntsman, since everyone in the media refers to most former elected officials by their last office held – “Speaker” Gingrich for instance – shouldn’t they call him “Ambassador”? In fact, if I’m the Democrats, that’s the only way I’d ever refer to him. After all, that’s what the GOP did to brand the Affordable Care Act “Obamacare.”

Speaking of Gingrich, why do I have the feeling that once his current “vacation” is over, he’ll be leaving the race for good?

When I read things like this from Herman Cain at this weekend’s Faith & Freedom Conference (funny how only right-wing Republicans seem to have the former and believe in the latter, but I digress) – “The Cain doctrine would be real simple when it comes to Israel: You mess with Israel, you mess with the United States of America,” he said to a long standing ovation” – all I can do is laugh because there’s no way the GOP is going to nominate an African-American, especially after the “MC Michael Steele Experiment” was so darn successful.

Now to be fair, and fairness is a hallmark of the Flyer, if you went to FIVE colleges in FIVE years like a certain nitwit of a former governor did, you’d probably get some of those pesky little things called “facts” wrong/confused too.

Okay Casey Anthony, if you didn’t kill Caylee Inside Casey Anthony’s murder trial,  what happened to her that made you wait THIRTY DAYS before you told your parents that your daughter was missing?

Let me see if I heard a church-going, female friend of mine correctly: she didn’t go see Prince (who doesn’t do his old “nasty” songs anymore) because he’s too much of a “freak”, BUT she’s going to see R. Kelly when he comes to town? SMH and muttering to myself.

If someone told me Art Laboe was the DJ for The Last Supper, I wouldn’t even blink.

Mark my words: Dodger fans better hope and pray that somebody with some real money ends up owning the team soon because Matt Kemp is playing himself into the “unaffordable” range for Frank (and Jamie) McCourt.

For the life of me, I don’t understand why major league teams keep signing players represented by $cott Borras. Almost to a player, they’re tremendous flops with their new teams and all the add to your bottom line is a drain on your finances on the 1st and 15th of each month.

WHO’S THE BEST  CENTER OF ALL-TIME?

2011 – 39-year-old Shaquille O’Neal ends his 19 year NBA career as an out-of-shape, often injured bench warmer for the Boston Celtics. 1986 – 39-year-old Kareem Abdul-Jabbar ended his 17th year in the NBA as a first-team All-NBA starter for the Los Angeles Lakers. Abdul-Jabbar went on play three more seasons with the Lakers, including back-to-back championships in 1987 and 1988. ‘Nuff said!

Bill Plaschke: Brian Shaw deserves better than the treatment he’s gotten from the Lakers Oh please! The Lakers let Brian Shaw know exactly where he stood when they allowed him to be interviewed for head coaching positions with other teams while he was still under contract to them. They gave him a chance to become an assistant coach, promoted him when Kurt Rambis left, allowed him to fill in whenever Jackson missed a game and to the best of my knowledge, none of his paychecks ever bounced or were even late. By the way, if you ask me to choose a coach from the “Phil Jackson Tree” or the “Gregg Poppovich Tree”, I’m going to pluck my fruit from the latter and not the former. I wish Shaw all the best, but the Lakers don’t owe him anything.

Why hasn’t there been a young black male pop star created via YouTube yet?

GAME THREE OBSERVATIONS

The Dallas p.a. announcer reminds me of that dry-as-the-Mojave-Desert introduction that emcee gave the Five Heartbeats in that little down South club.

Mike Bibby and Jason Kidd together are still lighter than the Miami coach!

Why does sideline reporter Doris Burke remind me of a first-season Samantha Jones in Sex and the City?

As God is my witness, I had no idea that Juwan Howard, who from the looks of his hair wears a wave cap every moment he possibly can, is still alive and I’ll bet you dollars to donuts that you didn’t either!

Is it just me or does Udonis Haslem look like someone voted Most Likely To Star In A Prison Movie? I mean, if he’s not on a work-release program from Dade County Correctional…

Why do I keep expecting Mavs’ coach Rick Carlisle to read somebody their rights at any given moment?

LeBron is “Sonny”, D-Wade is “Michael” and Bosh is “Fredo.”

Mark Jackson’s suit – “C’mon son, you’re better than that!”

RIDDLE ME THIS BATMAN

If all popcorn is created equal, why does Orville Redenbacher’s taste better than any other brand?

FINALLY

I guess I’ll have to go back and read Longfellow’s poem about Paul Revere’s ride again because apparently I missed the part where he yelled, “The Americans are armed! The Americans are armed!”

Leave a Reply

