Saturday, May 27, 2011

“After The Rapture Has Gone”

“Don’t make me kill you. ‘Cause I will. Think I’m f**king around? Ask the late Osama bin Laden if I won’t order a cap busted in your head.”

CAN YOU SAVE THIS FIELD?

Bachmann’s ‘Calling’.. Palin Thunders Back.. The Pizza Man Delivers.. Newt’s Epic Free-Fall.. TPaw’s Campaign Dead?.. For Santorum, No Party In The USA

BACHMANN: WE’RE NOT ‘INTERCHANGEABLE’
Tea Party Favorite Plans 2012 Announcement.. And Palin’s Back In The Spotlight

Now appearing everywhere: “Subtle Stupidity”

Mitt Romney 2012 Campaign For President Announcement Coming Next Week

 

 

 

 

 

 

“I think I can. I sure as sugar hope I can. Pardon my French.”

...

The magic of Chicago for Obama ’12

“Hello, Obama for President headquarters. Home of the current and future President of the United States. How may I help you?”

OBAMA 2012 -TIME’s Michael Scherer, “Obamaworld 2012: The President’s re-election team gets back to its (grass) roots”: “[O]bama 2012 looks and feels much as Obama 2008 did … In fact, all of the people who have been hired so far into the inner circle have been there before. Jim Messina, who served as the ’08 campaign’s chief of staff before a turn at the White House, is campaign manager. David Axelrod, the message guru, will reprise his role. … Robert Gibbs is expected back as well. The field leadership, led by [Jeremy] Bird and Mitch Stewart, Obama’s 2008 Iowa organizer, remains unchanged. At the White House, a coterie of old campaign hands, including Plouffe, Stephanie Cutter and Dan Pfeiffer, keep in close touch with Chicago. President Obama, meanwhile, plays a chairman-of-the-board role, receiving regular progress briefings and speaking intermittently with Messina and Axelrod.” http://ti.me/kByCGW

Sarah Palin revs up for nationwide bus tour

Sarah Palin goes behind enemy lines

Michael J.W. Stickings: Palin on the Bus, Back in the Spotlight, Desperate for Attention

Karl Rove: Sarah Palin Doesn’t Seem To Think ‘Rules Apply To Her’

“I don’t think she thinks the rules apply to her. She doesn’t need to have the traditional trappings of a presidential campaign. No finance committee, she can raise the money. She doesn’t need to go shake a lot of hands in Iowa, New Hampshire or South Carolina.”

Ron Paul: Who cares that he’s seeking the Republican nomination?

FROM POLITICO PLAYBOOK-5/27/11

EMAIL DU JOUR, from a Bush alumnus with whom we have regular trilats at Guapo’s (extra credit for guessing the third person): “You heard it here first … as much as it pains me, Sarah Palin may win the nomination. Why? 1) Romney and his camp think she is too stupid and bombastic to win. 2) The media hates her … 3) She has sex appeal that the other candidates can’t purchase or campaign on. On top of this, she appears to have a solid marriage with a good guy who does not want the limelight. [You’re kidding with that one, right? Is this whole thing real, or a joke?] 4) There is no front runner (in spite of Romney’s 5 year campaign). 5) She has 100% name ID and free media, so her campaign war chest would not have to be as high as the others (including Romney – people still do not know what he is all about) * I am not saying I would vote or support her, but this may happen in spite of what all the elite think. Many people would not be shocked if she ran, but people will be shocked if she wins!” Yes, they will, bro!

PLAYBOOK FACTS OF LIFE: Romneyworld strongly believes that if Palin gets in, he wins more easily. “The shock value would cause elected officials and party officials to rally around Mitt, because she’d scare the daylights out of them,” one official said. “And it would allow him to position himself very much in the middle of Republican, conservative thinking and avoid the fringe, and look more moderate for the general election.” Rep. Michele Bachmann would have the same effect, the adviser said. Either of them “gives Romney a bogeyman: ‘Stop this crazy woman.'” Another top Republican said he relishes the idea of a Palin candidacy: “She’ll be defeated, and we’ll be done with her.”

TEA TENSION: Sarah Palin, Michele Bachmann jockey for spotlight – Ben Smith and Maggie Haberman: “Already, their interests are coming into conflict as Palin makes moves designed to reclaim some of the media sparkle she’s ceded to Bachmann during the spring. The timing of Palin’s announcement Thursday of a weekend bus tour up the East Coast overshadowed what appeared to be Bachmann’s final steps toward a presidential bid, a ‘moneybomb’ raising $250,000 in a day and a planned speech in Iowa. … [W]hen asked about Palin during her by-phone presser with reporters who flew to Iowa Thursday for the speech, Bachmann lauded the Alaskan. But in the next breath she ticked off her resume, seeming to distinguish her own background from Palin’s credentials. … ‘I want to make it very clear: I consider Governor Palin a friend and I have great respect for Governor Palin. But … I don’t believe that any two candidates are interchangeable. I believe each one of us brings our own unique skill set into this race.’ … Prominent Republicans speculated Thursday that Palin’s bus tour timing is not unconnected to the Minnesota congresswoman’s efforts.” http://bit.ly/lVJNhD

...

“Hey fat-boy! I’ll put my age-appropriate hot blond wife up against ‘Mrs Toad #3” anytime, any place. And since I’m still trim and good-looking, I don’t need no stinkin’ revolving charge account at Tiffany’s to keep mine happy. Besides, even if I did, my daddy’s a billionaire and I can pay cash.

Michele Bachmann has ‘calling’ to run

“Every decision that I make, I pray about, as does my husband,” said the Minnesota congresswoman, according to radio broadcaster O. Kay Henderson. “Dear God, this is Michele again. I was just wondering, should I get chips or potato salad with my chicken sandwich for lunch today. Please get back to me before 12:30 CST. Thanks.”  “Dear God, this is Michele’s husband. I hate to bother you again, but I want Michele to give me, you know, rhymes with bed, but I don’t know how to ask her. Any ideas? Thanks.”

The 2012 Speculatron Weekly Roundup For May 27 

NEWS

White, working class and alienated by Ronald Brownstein  

Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.) says he’s “proud” of his actions surrounding Sen. John Ensign’s (R-Nev.) scandal. Coburn has been accused of being an intermediary between Ensign and the husband of Ensign’s mistress, discussing compensation for the man. Really? I’d hate to see what Coburn would be ashamed of!

Miami Heat could pull off biggest ‘I told you so’ in sports history

RANDOM THOUGHTS

I wonder which Mitt Romney will appear at next week’s official presidential announcement: corporate rich guy with a tie or regular rich guy without a tie. Hey, maybe he should just split the difference and order an ascot from the Roland S. Martin Collection.

After all, what says, “I’m one of you better than an ascot. Wait, he can get one of those “skipper hats” from his yacht club (I’m fairly certain he either belongs to one or has in the past) and do it up right. You know, “Big Pimpin’”, GOP style. I don’t know about you, but I’d pay BIG money to see Mitt dressed like that.

Is it just me, or does it appear that Republicans are running to be the president of “White America?”

How can someone who’s never gone away, call himself a ‘comeback kid’ as Newton Leroy Gingrich did in New Hampshire this week.

If most people’s reaction to the statement, “I, ______________, am thinking about running for president is “Who/Why the ‘f’ is __________________ thinking about running for president?”, you probably shouldn’t be running for president. And yes, Rudy Giuliani, Thaddeus McCotter and Rick Perry, I’m talking to you.

Boy, that “Paul Ryan For President” talk sure died down quickly.

If Michele Bachmann and Sarah Palin formed a pop duo, their name would be Subtle Stupidity. I suspect that someone would have to explain to Palin what subtle means. Maybe Bristol could “Google” it for her.

I don’t know for sure that Casey Anthony killed her daughter – I’m fairly certain that she did or at least knows who did – but after just the first week of her murder trial, one thing is certain: that’s one messed up family.

I wonder why Hollywood doesn’t remake black movies. Oh that’s right, that’s what Tyler Perry, the “Puff Daddy of Films” does best. Or worse, depending on one’s point of view.

If you go by most of the basketball media, one would think that the Lakers hired a complete idiot as their new coach and for the life of me, I just don’t understand why.

I’m not saying players should scream obscenities at fans who are heckling them, BUT it would be great if say, Yoakim Noah could go to that fan’s office – imagine he’s an accountant at a major firm – and boo him from the “stands”: “Hey buddy, you did a real s****y job on that 1099. Get your head into the job. You suck!”

Uh, why is the NBA waiting until the day after the Memorial Day Weekend to start their Finals?

Frank McCourt says he expects to meet Dodgers payroll next week. Yeah, well, I expected to meet Halle Berry by now and that hasn’t happened yet.

 THE BEST NEW SHOW OF THE YEAR

 BODY OF PROOF

JUST FOR THE HELL OF IT!

FINALLY

Gil Scott-Heron Dead: ‘The Revolution Will Not Be Televised’ Author Dies At 62

“Saturday Night Live” creator/producer Lorne Michaels wanted Richard Pryor to host the show so much during the first season in 1975, he agreed to Pryor’s demand that the musical guest that week had to be Gil-Scott Heron. Now, that might not seem like such a big deal now, but trust me, this was a HUGE thing 36 years ago – Gil-Scott Heron on a network TV show.

While The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” remains Heron’s most well-known song (along with his collaborator Brian Jackson), this is my favorite of his Johannesburg. Years before Nelson Mandela’s release, Brother Gil was preaching the word about South Africa.

And he was married to Brenda Sykes too! 

Gil and Brenda in 1980

Leave a Reply

