Random Thoughts – Monday, March 28, 2011

THOSE EYES

The most overused words these days are “Legendary” and “Superstar”. However, there is absolutely no doubt whatsoever that with the passing this week of two-time Academy Award winning actress Elizabeth Taylor, we have indeed lost a legendary superstar.

1932 – 2011

Can you imagine the media frenzy today that would have surrounded her and Eddie Fisher and her and Richard Burton? I’m “mature enough” to remember the “Burton Years”, especially when he bought her what came to be known as The Taylor-Burton Diamond.

WHY NEWT “THE TOAD” GINGRICH WON’T EVER BE PRESIDENT OF THESE UNITED STATES

This Newt Gingrich Attempts To Clarify His Position On Libya But, Wow, So Confusing! makes his recent “I cheated of my wives because I was a patriot trying to save the country” position seem almost reasonable. “Almost” being the key word.

“Let me make this perfectly illogical to you.”

I don’t know about you but, when I read or hear Newt “The Toad” Gingrich say he’s not a I’m not a hypocrite  or talk about “values” “If you don’t start with values, the rest of it doesn’t matter”, I get sick to my stomach. Hey, maybe that’s why I was ill this weekend!

“The Paranoid Primary” is what Michelle Bachmann Vs Sarah Palin would be if both of these lunatically (I made that up) oriented women enter the race for the 2012 GOP presidential nomination. It would be a race to the bottom of white American politics between two anti-intellectual wackos who appeal to the fears and conspiracy theories of the truly unhinged. And I’d pay good money to watch it.

Speaking of Palin, the fact that as soon as Representative Mike Pence of Indiana and Senator John Thune of South Dakota announced that they wouldn’t being running for president on the GOP side (Pence in late January and Thune a month later) they virtually disappeared from the national news scene, one can understand better her decision to delay her inevitable babble-thon stating why she’s decided not to run. My money’s on some form of “After careful dribbilation, I won’t let the lamestream media manpitulate my family’s private privacy by running…”

The 2012 Speculatron Weekly Roundup

SOMETHING HE’LL NEVER, EVER HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT

Cain Vows Not To Appoint Muslims If Elected President I love it when people like Herman Cain threaten to do or not do something that they know has absolutely no chance of ever, ever  happening. This is like Stephen Hawking issuing the statement, “If I ever get my hands on Halle Berry, I’m going to give her a night she’ll never forget.”

AND THE LUNATICS ARE OFF AND RUNNING!

GOP Hopefuls Begin Long Slog To 2012 In Iowa At Steve King Event

MIKE WALLACE’S SON THROWS ANOTHER HISSY FIT

Fox News’ Chris Wallace Slams White House For Blocking Access To Clinton, Gates (VIDEO) This was almost as funny as watching John “How Many Damn Houses Do I Own” McCain deny that he’s ever read the book Game Change – “I know how it turned out” – which made him look like the biggest fool of the entire 2008 campaign. I guess picking a semi-obscure, white-trash, MILFed-up governor of a frontier state will do that to one’s reputation.

FINAL FOUR FACT THAT MIGHT INTEREST ONLY ME

The combined ages of Butler’s Matt Stevens and VCU’s Shaka Smart, 34 and 33 respectively, are less than that of UConn’s Jim Calhoun who is 68. In fact, Calhoun has been a NCAA head coach longer than either Stevens or Smart has been alive – 39 years. And yes, this is the first time a coach named “Shaka” has coached a Final Four team. Now, if only a Keisha or LaShonda can coach a team into the women’s Final Four.

COULD SEX HAVE SAVED “THE KING OF POP”?

Every time I see a photo of teen stars Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez together, I can’t help but think, “You know, maybe if Michael Jackson had ‘got some’ when he was 16, 17 years old, maybe things would have turned out different for him.”

If you didn’t see Michael propose to Holly on The Office or watch The Good Wife last week, get thyself to Hulu or those shows’ Websites sooneth than later.

Stay Classy Kirstie Alley.

Leave a Reply

