Random Thoughts for October 4, 2010

I love that the city of Gainesville, Florida wants “Pastor” Terry Jones to reimburse them $200K for security expenses stemming from his recent hollow (my word not theirs) threat to burn the Quran. I’m sure that Jones and his 30-40 strong “congregation” will be able to raise that amount sometime within the next 20 years.

Uh, the White House can’t find any non-white neighborhoods with backyards for the president to go to?

The Steelers’ loss to the Ravens yesterday probably makes it much easier for coach Omar Epps to reinstate Ben Rothlisberger as starting QB after next week’s bye.

LaDainian Tomlinson is back and now we’re about to see if Michael Vick has really changed for the better.

Why is it that you don’t hear brothers complaining about Tyra Banks, Halle Berry, Janet Jackson, Kerry Washington, just to name a few, dating non-black men but, sisters are always complaining when a famous black man dates/marries outside “the race”?

SADE is going on tour next summer and I’m already excited!

Is Alvin Greene still alive and running for the Senate in South Carolina? I hope to get a chance to ask James Clyburn, “What the hell happened down there?” when I see him at the Urban Issues Breakfast Forum this Saturday in LA.

Some friends dragged me to an art exhibit at a gallery in East LA yesterday afternoon and I’m glad they did because I saw some of the most beautiful photographs of Cuba that I’ve ever seen. The photographer is Rudy J. Cardona, his website is www.trespataspotgraphy.com and I urge you to check it out.

I saw The Social Network over the weekend and it’s an excellent look at the founding and development of Facebook. The thing that really stuck in my mind is that less than 10 years ago, what has become a multi-billion dollar company was started in a Harvard dorm room because as is usually the case when it comes to a man’s motivation, some guys wanted to “get some”.

Along with the movie, I also saw trailers for some upcoming films and two of them stood out – The Company Men which opens on October 22nd and features, not one, not two, but four, count ‘em, FOUR Academy Award Winners (Ben Affleck, Chris Cooper, Kevin Costner and Tommie Lee Jones – and Burlesque which opens on Thanksgiving and stars Cher and Stanley Tucci and, you read it here first, will launch Christina Aguilera into movie stardom. In fact, I’m going to go wayyyyyyyyyy out on a limb and predict an Oscar nomination for her right here and now.   

I’m waiting for The Real Housewives of Branson.

Just in case former Giants running back Tiki Barber was wondering how fans feel about him since he retired and 1) Went to NBC in a blaze of glory and great PR only to be released early from his contract because he was God-awful (and that’s putting it mildly), 2) Criticized the coach (Tom Coughlin) and quarterback (Eli Manning) who led the team to a Super Bowl victory over the previously undefeated New England Patriots the season AFTER Barber retired and 3) Left his pregnant with twins wife for a much younger woman (she’s white and blond), the boos he received at the team’s Ring of Honor ceremony during halftime of last night’s game against the Bears, should clear that up for him.

The fact that Rahm Emanuel isn’t a shoo-in for Chicago mayor is exactly why I say that neither Newt Gingrich or Sarah Palin will risk their “brands” by running in the 2012 Republican presidential primaries.

Is it just me or is Justin Timberlake having the post-music career Usher tried to have a when he starred in the “classic”, In The Mix, back in ’05?

A lot of the world’s current problems wouldn’t exist if someone had just killed Hitler in high school.

One would think that with 500 million Facebook users, the opening box-office for The Social Network would have been higher than $23 million. Hell, even a terrible Tyler Perry movie (yes, I’m aware that’s a redundancy but I digress) opens bigger than that.

I can’t wait for the movie about the founding of BarelyEntertainingTelevision. That should be riveting – “Okay, we’ll start off with a mixture of news, black college sports, entertainment and the occasional Sunday of infomercials before devolving into the number one outlet for booty-shaking, tasteless music videos of songs of questionable content and lyrics before selling out for billions of dollars. Are you in?”

Would someone please tell Alabama football head coach Nick Saban that smiling isn’t illegal.

Funniest thing I saw this weekend – a white teenager wearing a wave cap at the Century City mall. The looks on his parents’ faces were priceless.

If the California gubernatorial race was a prize fight, my money would be on Meg Whitman to kick Jerry Brown’s old a** in a heartbeat.

Tiger Woods is THIS close to having to change his name to “Kitty” Woods if he keeps playing like he is.

Speaking of Tiger, whenever I see him these days, I can’t help but think about what an old man in Wichita Falls, Texas once told me about a girl I was trying to get with. I was a 19 year-old airman and she was a local girl with, let’s say, a bit of a “reputation” but, that wasn’t deterring me one bit. In fact, it only added to my wanting to get with her. We were on our dinner break at the Officer’s Club where I worked part-time and C.C. Wheeler said something I’ll never forget: “Boy, all p***y isn’t good for you.”

“On any given Sunday”: St Louis Rams 20, Seattle Seahawks 3 and Jacksonville Jaguars 31, Indianapolis Colts 28.

Leave a Reply

