Sunday, August 29, 2010

Today is the 5th anniversary of Hurricane Katrina hitting the city of New Orleans. Let us never forget those who lost their lives because of it.

THE FOOL ON THE HILL

“Attention white people of America. Don’t be fooled by the black people you see onstage today. It’s all a part of my plan to take back OUR country. I’m just using them (paying them) to fool the media. Don’t show any racist but true signs, don’t attack any ‘coloreds’ and do your best to clap in time to the music when the gospel choir sings. We will contact you telepathically upon your return to your caves, trailer parks and hovels. That is all for now. White power!”

QUOTE OF THE DAY

“This is our day and we ain’t giving it away!” – Reverend Al Sharpton, president of the National Action Council.

NEWS

National Mall, Glenn Beck rally: Glenn Beck, others exhort conservatives to action at Washington rally – latimes.com

GLENN BECK, to Chris Wallace on “Fox News Sunday,” re a Beck-Palin ticket in 2012: “Not a chance. I don’t know what Sarah is doing. I hope to be on vacation. I have no desire to be president of the United States. Zero desire. I don’t think that I would be electable. And there are far too many people that are far smarter than me to be president. I’d like to find one with some honor and integrity. I haven’t seen them yet, but they’ll show up. … My feeling right now is the country is in trouble. And I don’t see a political solution, because I think we’re too divided. … I think both parties have sold their souls. … So let’s take [the country’s founders] as people who knew what they were talking about. What do you say we give the whole ‘let’s turn back to God’ thing a try and see what happens?”

–Beck, asserting Obama’s “viewpoints come from liberation theology”: “[L]ook, I’m a Mormon, and most Christians don’t recognize me as a Christian, so who am I to say? I’m not judging. I’m saying most Christians would look at collective salvation — which is … my redemption is incumbent on what the collective does, so I can’t be saved unless the collective is saved. Well, that is a direct opposite of what the gospel talks about. Jesus came for personal salvation. It’s like people say, you know, you just accept Jesus and you’re saved. That’s not what my church teaches. … [T]hen you also … got to get in there and plug. You got to change your heart as well. OK. That’s what I happen to believe. … I’m not demonizing [Obama’s view]. I disagree with it.”

AL SHARPTON, in his rally remarks: “They may have the Mall, but we may have the message. They may have the platform, but we have the dream. …Just ’cause you got the spot, don’t mean you’re standing up to the dream. … We don’t have to be at the spot – all we have to be is who we are. We can dream from jail cells. We can dream from hospital beds. We can dream wherever we are. … Somebody said that there’s going to be trouble today. There’s ain’t no TROUBLE. We wouldn’t DISGRACE today by allowing you to PROVOKE us, no matter you say, no matter what you do.”

 Glenn Beck rally drew a crowd. But how big?  According to CBS News Glenn Beck Rally Attracts Estimated 87,000, it wasn’t nearly as a big a crowd as he hoped for.

Glenn Beck says not to look for 2012 Beck-Palin ticket That collective groan you just heard was the nation’s late-night TV show hosts lamenting the loss of a treasure trove of potential material for jokes.

TV SoundOff: Sunday Talking Heads

Fox News Rejects Media Matters Ad Highlighting Its $1 Million GOP Donation, Admits News Corp Opposes ‘Democratic Candidates’ Really? I would have never guessed.

GOP tide could reduce the ranks of women in Congress  

SEPTEMBER SURPRISE? Housing and Urban Development Secretary Shaun Donovan, to Ed Henry, filling in as host of “State of the Union”: ‘We’re going to be rolling out an FHA refinancing effort to help borrowers who are under water in their homes get above water … And … we’re launching an emergency homeowners’ loan program for unemployed borrowers to be able to stay in their homes.” http://bit.ly/bENWal

Frank McCourt’s donation to L.A. police is to protect (his tarnished image) and to (self) serve  

Levi Johnston makes 6th visit to CBS morning show

NEW YORK – Levi Johnston chose one of his favorite television venues, CBS’ “The Early Show,” to declare on Friday that he lied when he previously said he had lied about Sarah Palin. The people at CBS News don’t even pretend to be “fair and balanced” when it comes to Levi Johnston and the Palins. Sometimes,  I get the feeling that if he said, “Sarah Palin has three breasts”, Harry Smith wouldn’t even blink before nodding and saying, “Okay Levi, describe them for us please.”

 Effective teachers in L.A. get little recognition from district 

 Zenaida Tan brims with innovative ways to reach limited-English students, handle discipline problems and keep the kids engaged. “I do a lot of singing, games,” says the teacher at a San Fernando school. Many of her students are immigrants like her.

Zenaida Tan brims with innovative ways to reach limited-English students, handle discipline problems and keep the kids engaged. “I do a lot of singing, games,” says the teacher at a San Fernando school. Many of her students are immigrants like her.

RANDOM THOUGHTS

If there are as many “angry Americans” as Glenn Beck, Sarah Palin and the rest of the GOP/Tea Party claims, shouldn’t there have been 300-500,000 at yesterday’s event? After all, Beck promoted it on his radio and TV shows since last November.

The America that Sarah Palin seeks to “restore” simply doesn’t exist anymore. Thank God. Pun fully intended.

I wonder how many times Beck climaxed (cried) during yesterday’s “show”. Five? Ten?

Glen Beck trying to link himself to the legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr is like Robert E. Lee trying to take credit for ending slavery.

As I watched Chris Wallace interview Glenn Beck ON FOX News Sunday today – he wanted to call Beck crazy so bad you could see him biting his tongue – it hit me right between the eyes: Beck is making up his S**T as he goes along!

You know people are just hating on President Obama when you read something like this: Poll: Bush handled Katrina better than Obama dealt with oil spill  I mean, really? Better than the guy who said, “Brownie, you’re doing a heck of a job” as people were dying in the flood waters of Katrina?

Speaking of Katrina: is it just me or do you see people, especially black people, in New Orleans saying things like “As long as we can party…” and say to yourself, “There’s your problem right there.” I’m not hatin’- just asking.

Let’s say the GOP retakes either or both chambers of Congress this fall and continues to oppose and obstruct President Obama’s agenda and launch investigations ad nausea as they’ve already promised to do. Would two years of Washington gridlock hurt or help the president’s chances for re-election? After all, Bill Clinton had to face a Republican controlled House and Senate after the disastrous mid-terms in 1994 and look what he did against Bob Dole in ’96 to win his second term.

Reading that Carly Farina, the Republican former businesswoman who’s running against Democratic incumbent Senator Barbara Boxer in California, is taking her first trip to Israel so that she can prove to the Jewish community that she “stands with them”, reminds me of when Sarah Plain tried to get foreign policy “experience” by meeting and shaking the hands of a few  hand-picked world leaders at the UN in 2008 – “Hi, I’m Sarah from Alaska, what weird country do you come from?” Hey, did I mention that Boxer is Jewish? – “Alex, ‘I’ll take the real Jew over the ‘friend of Jews’ for a hundred please.”

Family Values – I saw an article about Al Gore the other day and it got me to thinking – while both Al Gore and John Edwards were put out there as the “anti-Bill Clinton” in regards to being faithful, loving husbands, they are now both separated from their wives. Meanwhile, Bill who never pretended to be anything other than who he is, is still married to Hillary.

Call me crazy but it really annoys me that I could go to Vegas today, get drunk – if I still drank alcohol – meet a woman and get married on the spot but, two people in a long-term, committed relationship can’t just because they happen to be the same sex. How the f**k is that right or fair?

If I had one wish today, it would be to get inside one of those GOP/right-wing “strategy” meetings when they’re trying to come up with new ways to attack Barrack Obama – “Let’s see, there’s no dirt on his marriage, he’s not a drunk, his kids love and adore him, no scandals about taking money or gifts under the table. Hell, he and his mother-in-law get along so well, she lives in the White House too. Anybody got any ideas? Yeah, Larry, what you got?” “Well, sir, how’s about we say he’s a Muslim on the ‘down-low’ who likes to play basketball?” “Brilliant idea Larry, absolutely brilliant! Because we know basketball is a ‘black game’ and that’s when he can hang out with all his other secret-Muslim friends and plot to take over America from good, hard-working white people. Yes Jim, you’ve got something to say?” “Well sir, the guy plays a lot of golf too.” Murmurs from around the room. “Excellent point Jim. Anyone have any ideas how we can spin that?” “I know sir, how about we say his playing golf is his way of fooling people into believing that his half-white side is in control of his body and mind while he and his Muslim friends do their dirty work?” “Great, I love it! Everybody gets a bonus today. Now, let’s get out there and tell our people some more lies, excuse me, some more ‘facts’ about Barrack Hussein Obama that will scare them into voting for us in November. WHITE POWER!”

If Diana Ross released I’m Coming Out today, that song would have a whole new meaning.

Tiger Woods’ crash last November is the most expensive single-vehicle accident in history.

Why do I get the feeling that Joe Torre misses NYC, the Yankees and George Steinbrenner?

Is A-Rod Aging Before Our Eyes? It wasn’t that long ago that Alex Rodriguez was considered a sure bet to break Barry Bonds’ career home run record. And in fact, before his own steroid usage came to light, many in and out of baseball fervently hoped that he would. However, he’s now 35 and his batting average and home run numbers have dropped in each of the last three seasons and when he went back on the disabled list last week, his .265 batting average is the worst since his rookie season.

Who says Brett Favre needs training camp? He threw two interceptions, one for a TD, against the Seahawks Saturday night that were simply breathtaking.

It’s not like I need extra reasons to hate St Louis Cardinals manager Tony Larissa – I hate his arrogance, the way he treated Ozzie Smith during his last season in 1996 and his defending Mark McGwire – but his appearance yesterday at Glenn Beck’s “Crapalooza of Hate” is just icing on the cake.

Well, that should just about take care of James Toney’s MMA “career”, such as it was.

AND THE “CHILE, PLEASE” AWARD GOES TO…Alveda King, niece of the late Martin Luther King, Jr, who spoke at the Glen Beck event on Saturday. Ms King said, “My daddy, Rev. A.D. King, my granddaddy, Martin Luther King, Senior — we are a family of faith, hope and love. And that’s why I’m here today. Glenn says there is one human race, I agree with him. We are not here to divide. I’m about unity. That’s why I’m here, and I want to honor my uncle today.” 

NOTICE

The fall semester begins for me tomorrow (Monday)and with a full load of classes – 16 units – I won’t be able to post as often. But, from time to time, I will hit you with a few “Random Thoughts” in your email box. Thanks for your continued support and comments. Please spread the word about THE FREEMAN FLYER!

COMICS

...

...

Leave a Reply

