Padres 5, Dodgers 0

Thanks to my brother Nathan, I went to my first game at Dodger Stadium in over two years last Thursday night. Our family moved to San Diego before the Padres became a major league team so I grew up listening to Vin Scully on KFI and that’s why I remain a Dodger fan today. On the other hand, the Padres joined the National League when my brother was just starting to get into sports and even though he’s lived here in LA for close to 30 years, he still roots for the Padres. For several reasons, I hadn’t been to a game at the stadium since Opening Day 2008 and had recently vowed to never buy another ticket to a game as long as anyone named McCourt still had anything to do with the team. Because it was my brother’s treat, I decided that allowed me to set foot into the stadium again.

The seats were great! We sat on the Field Level about ten rows behind the Dodgers Dugout which meant that we had to be alert for foul balls throughout the game. I kept score for the first 4 innings but, abandoned that endeavor so I could enjoy the game more.  

I was pleasantly surprised at the changes on the Field Level – Base Line Box Seats and Club, remodeled concession stands (I brought chicken wings, deviled eggs, peanuts, Diet Coke and water from home) and best of all, completely redone bathrooms – since my last visit. Unfortunately, it’s still an old stadium and for someone like me who’s had both hips replaced since May ’08 and now has a disk problem in my back, it’s a bit tough getting around. Sad to say, but I’ve become one of those people I used to laugh at for bringing a seat cushion. 

 Anyway, despite the outcome, it was an enjoyable evening at the ballpark with my brother. We had a running conversation with some 20 year olds in the row right in front of us and it was great hearing their youthful perspectives and giving them some of our historical viewpoints on baseball in general.

Next Road Trip: I’ll be going out to the newly remodeled Santa Monica Place shopping area on Saturday and reporting on the changes. I promise you lots and lots of pictures if the weather is good.

Be Safe. Be Good. Be Blessed.  

Leave a Reply

