ZOOM ZOOM!

I know a lot of people are going to jump all over Tyreke Evans of the Sacramento Kings for getting arrested for doing 120-130 mph on a California freeway last month – a CHP airplane filmed him apparently racing another vehicle on a crowded road – but not me. I’m not condoning what Evans did, especially in traffic, but I understand how hard it is to have a lot of car – in his case a Mercedes S-Class/AMG sedan and not open it up.

Years ago, I had a pearl white over gray Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo (man, I miss that car) that I had “hot-tuned” to 330 horsepower. Now, that might not sound like a lot of horses to you but with twin turbos that engaged in first gear – unlike the much more expensive Porsche 911 Turbo back then – and it’s low-profile and speed-shifting mechanism, that thing was a pocket-rocket.

I once drove from Fremont CA to Los Angeles – about 380 miles – in 4 hours and 15 minutes. How did I do that? Well, it was early on Friday morning after Thanksgiving 1991 and the road was wide open and I sat on cruise control at 135mph for long stretches of the trip. Dumbest thing I’ve ever done in my life. Funnest thing I’ve ever done too that didn’t involve being naked.

Did I mention that I really, really miss that car?

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

